October 16 2018 Meeting

Below is list of the Speakers, the titles of there talks, and a link to their talks if available. The speaker’s name links to a member page with additional information.

Speaker (Affiliation), Email

Talk


Kinshuk Govil (FUEGO), kinshuk@gmail.com

Smoke Detection


Emily Watson (NASA, LLNL), emily.l.wilson@nasa.gov

The Goddard/LLNL Cube Sat System


Tim Ball (Fireball, FUEGO), tim@fireballit.com

Intelligence in Fire Management


Carl Pennypacker (LBNL, FUEGO), crpennypacker@lbl.gov

Overview of FUEGO


Tarek Zohdi (UC Berkeley, Fire Research Group), zohdi@berkeley.edu

Fire Research Group Overview


Daniel Feldman (LBNL), drfeldman@lbl.gov

Satellite Remote Sensing of Active Fires: Capabilities, Challenges, and Opportunities


Khalid Mosalam (UC Berkeley), mosalam@berkeley.edu

Amarnath Kasalanati (UC Berkeley), amarnath1@berkeley.edu

Fire Following Earthquakes


Mark Mueller (UC Berkeley), mwm@berkeley.edu

Lab overview: Autonomy in Flight


Micheal Frenklach (UC Berkeley), myf@me.berkeley.edu

Combustion Model Development


Simo Marikarju (UC Berkeley), makiharju@berkeley.edu


Kousil Sreenath (UC Berkeley), koushils@berkeley.edu

Legged and Aerial Robotics for Fire Response


Hannah Stuart (UC Berkeley), hstuart@berkeley.edu


Michelle Newcomer (LBNL), mnewcomer@lbl.gov

Advanced Simulation Capabilities to Assess Pre-and-Pro Fire Water Quality and Surface Water-Groundwater Interactions


Sebastien Biraud (LBNL), scbiraud@lbl.gov


Philip Colella (LBNL), pcolella@lbl.gov


Kai Vetter (LBNL), kvetter@lbl.gov

Mapping (Nuclear) Radiation from Aerial Platforms in 3D


Hans Johansen (LBNL), hjohansen@lbl.gov

Adaptive Mesh Refinement


Wayne Lee Delker (UC Berkeley), wdelker@berkeley.edu

Master of Engineering Program


Jan Mandel (University of Colorado Denver), Jan.Mandel@ucdenver.edu

Fire Simulation


Mike Lampton (LBNL, FUEGO), mlampton@berkeley.edu

Signal to Noise and Sensors at Several Altitudes (A spreadsheet is available here as well)


Chris Schmidt

GOES and Detecting Fires


Chris Moeckel (SSL), chris.moeckel@berkeley.edu

Introduction to the SSL Cube Sats


Vincent Riot (LLNL), riot1@llnl.gov

LLNL CubeSat Bus (This talk is unavailable, but a news report and paper summarize it well (another one))


Carlos Fernandez-Pello (UC Berkeley), ferpello@me.berkeley.edu

Wildland Fire Spot Ignition By Sparks and Firebrands


Jennifer Holm (EESA, LBNL), jaholm@lbl.gov

Using fine-scale demographic and dynamic vegetation modeling to capture changes in fuel loads